Skip To Main Content

Teams

About Teams

After ongoing- consultation with a student’s team of teachers, the school counselors work directly with the administration to assign each student to a team for the following year. As the counselor moves with the same group of students from one grade to the next at TMS, the counselor becomes more knowledgeable about each student’s academic and social needs.

Grades 6, 7 and 8 are divided into interdisciplinary teams of approximately 100 students and five academic teachers. The teachers share a common schedule and common planning time. Team classes include Math, Language Arts, Science, and Social Studies. All other classes are cross-teamed.

The school counselors place students on teams. The teams are balanced by gender, elementary sending school (Grade 6), learning differences and other needs. Although the curricula on all teams at each grade level are the same, team teachers may plan unique activities or events for their team of students. Teams of students do not stay together for all three years; they are reassigned each year.

Team Leaders 2023-2024

6 Indigo: Jean Tak jtak@tenafly.k12.nj.us 

6 Navy: Michelle Preolo   mpreolo@tenafly.k12.nj.us  

6 White: Dani Katz   dkatz@tenafly.k12.nj.us

7 Blue: Amy Trochanowski   atrochanowski@tenafly.k12.nj.us

7 Maroon: Kimberly Stivers   kstivers@tenafly.k12.nj.us

7 Purple: Matt Eliscu   meliscu@tenafly.k12.nj.us

8 Green: Andrea Florczak   aflorczak@tenafly.k12.nj.us

8 Red: Anthony Zorovich   azorovich@tenafly.k12.nj.us

8 Teal: Anthony Vagnone   avagnone@tenafly.k12.nj.us

Integrated Arts:  Brian Cook   bcook@tenafly.k12.nj.us